10 Interesting Facts About IPL: What Are Some Amazing Facts?

Interesting facts about IPL
Interesting facts about IPL Match

Indian Premier League is one of the biggest and most popular cricket leagues in the world. It is very popular in India and among the people of the world. IPL was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India in 2007 and it is one of the most favorite games since its inception. Before I start telling you interesting facts about IPL, I would like to tell you something more about it.

The schedule of the 16th season of IPL is already announced and the grand event is going to start on 31st March 2023. A total of 10 teams will play this season and 70 league matches will be played. These matches will be played in home and away format.

No doubt IPL is one of the richest games in India and fans are crazy about this game. You are reading some interesting facts about IPL, and I can guess you are also curious about this game. So, without so much delay let’s go through some amazing and interesting facts about IPL.

TATA IPL Schedule 2023: Full List of Matches, Date, and Time

IPL 2023 Team List: Names and Other Details of The Team

10 Interesting Facts About IPL

Below I am writing about 10 interesting facts about IPL and these are very interesting to know. So let’s go through them.

1- Go Green Initiative

This is one of the amazing initiatives taken by one IPL team every year since 2011. And the name of that team is Royal Challengers Banglore (RCB). Every year they wear the green jersey for one match in Indian Premier League. Through the “Go Green” initiative, they promote a green environment for the future.

2- Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award in IPL

The MVP award is given to the cricketer who scores the most points in the entire season. The first Most Valuable Player (MVP) award was given to Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals) in 2008. And in 2022, Jon Buttler (Rajasthan Royals) won this award. Let’s have a look at the full list.

2008Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals
2009Adam GilchristDeccan Chargers
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2012Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2013Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals
2014Glenn MaxwellPunjab Kings
2015Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2017Ben StokesRising Pune Supergiant
2018Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2019Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2020Jofra ArcherRajasthan Royals
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals
List of Most Valuable Player Award – Interesting Facts IPL

3- Team Who Owned Maximum IPL Trophy

The most successful team of IPL is Mumbai Indias. This team has owned the IPL trophy five times. And the Chennai Super Kings have woned this trophy four times. Here is the complete list.

Mumbai Indians5 Times2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
Chennai Super Kings4 Times2010, 2011, 2018, 2021
Kolkata Knight Riders2 Times2012, 2014
Sunrisers Hyderabad1 Time2016
Rajasthan Royals1 Time2008
Deccan Chargers1 Time2009
Gujarat Titans1 Time2022
Most Wins in IPL Match – Interesting facts about IPL

4- Fastest Century in IPL

Chris Gayle holds the record for the fastest century in IPL. He scored his fastest century in IPL in 2013 and he completed his hundred runs in just 30 balls.

5- First Player Who Won Orange Cap

Orange Cap and Purple Cap are very popular awards in Indian Premier League. The orange cap award is given to the leading scorer in the IPL season. Shaun Marsh is the first winner of the Orange cap in IPl in 2008. In 2022, this award was woned by Jos Buttler.

6- Most Centuries

Chris Gayle has scored the most centuries in IPL. He holds the record of making 6 centuries in IPL. Virat Kohli is the second cricketer who has scored 5 centuries in IPL.

7- Most Half Centuries

This is one of the interesting facts about IPL. David Warner is the player who has the record of making the most half-centuries in IPL. He scores 55 half-centuries in 162 IPL matches played by him.

8- First Purple Cap in IPL

The Purple Cap award is given to the person who takes the maximum wickets in IPL. In 2008, Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals) was the winner of the Purple Cap, and in 2022 Yuzvendra Chahal (Rajasthan Royals) was the winner of it.

9- First Bowler

Praveen Kumar is the cricketer who bowled the first ball in IPL history in 2008. And Sourav Ganguly is the player who faced the ball.

10- First Wicket in IPL

The first wicket was taken by Zaheer Khan in IPL history in 2008. The first match was held between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata knight Riders.

Conclusion – Interesting Facts About IPL

IPL is a very old cricket league and it has so many amazing and interesting facts about IPL. And if you love cricket, then this might be one of your favorite game series. The new season is about to start in March end and so many new records and history may be created by players.

The above interesting facts about IPL are amazing and good to know about them. The 16th season of IPL will start with its first match on 31 March 2023 in Narendra Modi Stadium, Gujarat.

Aadhaar Address Update: How to Change Address in Aadhaar Address?

How to Change Your Photo in Aadhaar Online/Offline?

How to Use Head of Family (HOF) Based Aadhaar Update?

Previous article10 Ways to Save Money While Shopping? Online & Offline
Next article10 Best Personal Finance Channels on YouTube in India